And on the 7th day… she felt a bit rushed.

I will be leaving for India in 7 days. 7 days?!?!? How did that happen? Things are coming together but per usual there is still a lot to do. Setting up this blog was one of the many things on my list. Go me, checking things off. Don’t you just love to cross things off? And I’m off topic… prepare yourself, that will happen a lot. I’m not really sure how this will turn out but hopefully it will be fun!

On January 13th I set off for India. I will be in Mumbai and Bangalore.  I am going as part of an MBA study abroad program. We will be doing business visits in each city. The program is only 10 days in country so each day will be fairly packed. We also have about a half day of structured visits in each city. That will give us a chance to hit a few of the major tourist attractions. I am excited to visit the companies and see the similarities and differences in how we operate our businesses. As a sociology major in my undergrad I nerd out on the different ways that culture effect a business environment.

The group met once before Christmas. There are about 12 students, our professor who seems great and the Dean of the Business School who will also be traveling with us. The group is a mix of experienced travelers and (I think) a few people who haven’t left the country ever! Talk about baptism by fire! The group seems good though and we will all know each well by the end of the visit. The transition from being a study abroad advisor to a student on a program has been somewhat strange. I’m a total control freak and I am used to knowing every detail of the program so it’s been a little hard to not having the details! So… things are finally coming together and everything will get done. Or it won’t. But it will be fine.

My mom was THRILLED that I have finally started my Malaria medicine because getting Malaria just didn’t sound that fun. It was a huge hassle. Be aware… insurance doesn’t have to cover “travel” medicine. I call bullshit but thankfully it wasn’t too expensive. I decided $70 was worth spending especially considering my track record. I, of all people, would be the one to get Malaria while traveling.

This weekend will be spent reading, reading, reading because I finally got my course books. Not even my fault this time! Also for the first time in my life I am planning to pack early. I am a terrible packer. I should be good but I’m just not. I really don’t want to schlep more then I have to and obvi, I will need room for all the pretties I pick up while abroad. We’ll see. I’ll be super impressed with myself if I actually do it. Channel Grandpop. Pack early. Fingers crossed.

Super long first entry. Thanks for reading!

Namaste,

Sarah

11 thoughts on “And on the 7th day… she felt a bit rushed.

  1. SARAH…if you encounter a group of students from NJCU…New Jersey City University…there are 2 of my former students…Jane Sepulveda & Giselle Ojagir…they will be studying in Mumbai for a month…in any case have a safe & wonderful trip

    Cousin Mary Ann(from Jersey City)

  2. love the blog idea! Along with all the rest of the family and Sarah followers I will be checking it everyday. You KNOW how much I loved the show Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego?
    Change the name and off you go.

    Hugs, Mom

  3. Great start to your blog! And I am with you with the whole packing thing! Grandpop would start asking me if I was packed 3 weeks before we were going to Florida and I kept reminding him I do it the night before :-) And I am with your mom about getting that malaria medicine started. Katie

  4. Sarah,
    Looking forward to reading your travel blog ….have a great time! We have a good friend in New Dehli…he loves it there and has travelled extensively….what a great opportunity! Stay safe and enjoy -. Col

  5. I am so happy for you, Sarah! Thanks for sharing and I look forward to reading more of your posts throughout the trip. All the best to you – will be praying for your safe travels. Lots of love!! <3 – Judi

Leave a Reply

