The big year is finally here!

So, I am leaving my job and will be talking about 1 year, maybe a little more, maybe a little less to do what I have always dreamed of. I will travel, I will work, I will see amazing places and meet incredible people. I made a plan but it’s pretty sketchy because who knows what will come up? For now (because even though I am an obsessive planner there is only so much I can lock in) the plan is Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, Bolivia, Peru, Ecuador and into Colombia from September to January 2015. I will (hopefully, can’t fully apply until August) be teaching as part of a government program in Colombia from January to June. From there I will sail to Panama and travel up through Central America hitting all 7 countries: Panama, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, El Salvador, Honduras, Guatemala and Belize. Mexico will be my 16th and final country on my epic Latin America tour!  When I get home I will embrace the joy that is job hunting. I hope to find a company that can appreciate my desire to explore, professional experience, education and Spanish skills. It should be a year full of lots of good stuff and probably some bad stuff too. I will do my best to be smart with money and extra smart with my safety. It will be a leap of faith and trust in myself to make this happen but now is the time!

I will be traveling solo which is pretty new to me. I have traveled for school, for fun and for work but I was usually with a group of some kind. In the end of May I went to a huge (10,000 people!) conference in San Diego, CA. I stayed on after the conference ended – moved out of my swanky hotel into an awesome little hostel and explored on my own. My first real taste of solo travel. It was great! I have never been short on opinions so getting to do what I want, when I want? Yup, totally for me. I met some great people in my hostel. On my first night I was asked if I wanted to play cards? Um, sure. Friends for my 4 day stay? Check. Our group consisted of a British couple just finishing a year of study in the States, an American retired pro football player doing some volunteering, an Australian making his way around the world, an American girl on grad school tour through CA and a British girl working at the hostel in exchange for free housing. That’s what I love about staying in hostels – the opportunity for instant friends! I can’t wait for all the awesome people I am going to meet during my travels!

It won’t be all newbies for me though. Luckily I will be having a few of my favorite-favorite people come to visit me along the way. I know I am going to miss my family and friends a lot while I am away. There will probably be times that I get sad and I get lonely but that will be ok. That said, for those you planning to come travel with me prepare to be smothered upon arrival. I will probably scream when I see you and tackle you in the airport. Consider yourself warned.

Now I am in the home stretch. August 13 is my last day at Towson. August 9 I am taking my bedroom set and about half my crap to my sister’s in Philly. August 14 I am coming home to Scotia with only what I can fit in my car. September 3ish (flying standby) I will be heading out for my first stop – Brazil! The next 40 days are going to fly!

While I’m traveling I am going to do my best to actually write on this blog. I will try to keep anyone who is interested up-to-date about my life on the road. I hope it will be interesting and fun to read. I do seem to get myself into a lot of ridiculous situations so I plan to share as many of those as possible! Thank you for taking the time to read about my adventures!

Besitos,
SOD

3 thoughts on “The big year is finally here!

  1. I love you so much and I’m so proud of your willingness to explore and your oppenness to life! I can’t wait to hear about all your wonderful adventures! xoxo Ali

  2. I can’t believe it’s really almost time. Crazy. Super stoked for you (and maybe a little envious too;). If you ever feel lonely, know we’re all at home sending so much love!

Leave a Reply

